Collaborating is easy in Google Apps, it’s easy to invite colleagues into a document, spreadsheet or presentation and give them editing rights. But allowing colleagues to edit your document means they also have the ability to share and copy the document with more people, and to change the permissions you set for others. Let’s face it, if it’s your document do you want fellow editors to have this power? Maybe not, here’s a simple tip to stop it happening.

  • In the sharing box, take a look at the very bottom right of the box, click on Advanced.
  • This will bring up the advanced editor sharing settings box where you can change the default setting – which are:
    – Prevent editors from changing access and adding new people
    Disable options to download, print and copy for commenters and viewers

With the first setting in place you, as the owner, are in control of your document – nobody else can change permissions or add more collaborators. The second option prevents viewers from downloading, copying and printing your document. Certainly worth considering, and something we feel is easy to miss when sharing in Google Apps.