There have been mixed reactions to the change which has created a bit of a storm in the media, particularly by some privacy advocates, who say people could be contacted by people they don’t know and it could give spammers a great new way to invade your inbox.
In reality, the feature actually makes it easier for casual Google+ acquaintances to contact each other and also increases your ability to control and personalise your preferences. It’s worthwhile noting a few other things amongst the hysteria!
- The feature can be controlled via Gmail settings and Administrators have the ability to control the feature in the admin console.
- Users can allow emails from: Anyone on G+, Extended Circles, Your Circles and No one.
- Only your name and not your email address is visible to a Google+ connection unless you send that person an email, and likewise, that person’s email address isn’t visible to you unless they send you an email.
- This is an extension of some earlier improvements that keep Gmail contacts automatically up to date using Google+